On With The Show

Where to start….

Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve updated my blog, partially because I’m not quite sure what to write, partially because being in the army somewhat limits the time I have to myself and my writing.

Here goes the update: back in April I drafted to the army ulpan course at the michve alon army base. The course is designed for new immigrants with lower Hebrew levels to get the necessary help they new to succeed in the army. I was placed in the highest level class they offered, and I enjoyed myself immensely. Part of the course included basic training (not on a combat level, just what all soldiers are required to do) at the end of which I was picked to be “חייל מצטיין” “outstanding soldier” which was a wonderful feeling. Getting something right and being acknowledged for it? Nothing better.

After training, we continued with our Hebrew lessons, preparing ourselves for the final test which decides our Hebrew score which can influence the assignment you’re given after the course.

At the end of our course, we were sent to bakkum, the army induction center, to be assigned to our units. I requested to be assigned to הנדסה קרבית- the IDF combat engineering corps. It took about three seconds until they said okay.

That was a month and a half ago.

The last month has been my first month of combat training, and overall it’s been hard, but great. It’s very different here than it was at the course- I’m the only חייל בודד/lone soldier in my platoon. In the course it was something close to a 1:1 ratio. Here, I’m working with a 1:40 ratio. The people here are amazing and helpful and are attempting to change my classroom Hebrew to something a little more…. Israeli.

Speaking English on a day to day basis doesn’t really happen, but I’ve made a friends with a lot of the English speaking Olim on base, which helps. As my parents have likely noticed when I speak to them, my English has started to go a little rusty. It’s strange, going from being fluent in ones mother language to being semi fluent while at the same time becoming more and more fluent with ones new language. I notice that sometimes I need to think in Hebrew to voice a though in English because I’ve forgotten some of the words. It’s incredibly interesting how quick one can adapt.

Army life is hard enough as it is and I’m now beginning to understand on more than an intellectual level why it’s difficult to be a lone soldier. You go home on the weekend: your mother isn’t waiting at the bus stop to pick you up, your parents don’t do your laundry, you don’t have a car, you can’t just fall asleep the minute you get home: there’s stuff you have to do for yourself. all in all, it’s not the same army experience most soldiers have. BUT. There are wonderful people in this country who understand that and do their best to make it as good as possible. My adopted family on kibbutz welcomed me as if I was one of their own, I have endless invitations for a weekend here and there from an enormous network of family, friends, and friends of friends. The army gives me double the monthly stipend as a lone soldier benefit, and they arranged monthly coupons for the supermarket to help me out with food. Our kibbutz store gives us lone soldiers a monthly budget in the store, and our cafeteria gives us hot meals when we’re at home. There have been countless times when I’ve been shopping in uniform and when the cashier heard my accent and found out I was a lone soldier, they gave me a discount and praise and sent me on my way. No matter how crass Israelis may seem, they have a heart of gold.

This experience is wonderful, and it’s barely started. There’s a lot more to come over the horizon.

3 thoughts on “On With The Show

  1. Thanks for updating. Even though you are awesome at keeping us updated back home, it’s great to read this blog post.

    While we miss you oodles and bunches, we are so very proud of you, our favorite soldier-boy.

  2. Aryeh, there are several centres for lone soldiers around the country, as I’m sure you know. My niece was very involved with one in Jerusalem. Let me know if you want more info. And we are so proud of you.

Please share your thoughts.

