Caution: Big Year Ahead

It’s 2013!2013-Wallpaper-HD-10

Well, 2013 is finally here, and boy is my schedule packed with things to look forward to! At the top of the list is making the 6000 mile move from Spring Valley, New York to Israel, my people’s homeland. It’s pretty scary to think that in just eight short months I’ll be moving away from all that I grew up with, and moving to the land where my ancestors and their ancestors called home.

The Garin Tzabar Program, through whom I will be making Aliyah, has a series of seminars to help prepare young olim for life in Israel and in the army. The first seminar is only a few weeks away, and I can’t wait to meet my fellow crazy young adults who have decided to become my second family (whether they know it / like it or not).

For anybody interested in the program, please visit Garin Tzabar. Tell them I sent you. Or don’t. Your choice.

In addition to all these exciting events, I have been doing some research into cell phones in Israel. I have already found a decent cell phone plan, and I plan on buying an unlocked iPhone before I ship out. The plan is from Golan Telecom, a relatively new player in the cell market, and they have a plan for 99 NIS per month that includes:

  • Unlimited calls
  • Unlimited sms/mms
  • Unlimited internet browsing 3G+
  • Unlimited calls (53 Countries)

In addition, they will ship the SIM card to your house, and they let you pick your number for no added cost. Check this plan out at GOLAN TELECOM.

By this time next year, I’ll be a proud member of the Israeli Defense Force. What will YOU accomplish within this next year?

3 thoughts on “Caution: Big Year Ahead

  1. You get a SIM card at the airport when you land from Misrad HaKlita. It will last you several days, although you won’t be able to call the US with it (but will be able to email the number to your friends and family and receive calls). Once you’re settled, you can sign up with a plan. I went to the Malcha Mall in Jerusalem where a bunch of companies have kisosks (although some of them did not speak English). Golan doesn’t have a kiosk or any stores. I initially joined Pelephone but recently switched to Hot Mobile. Good Luck.

Please share your thoughts.

