Done With My Interview

Sometimes in life, we worry way too much. We get nervous about certain things that turn out to not have required much worrying about in the first place. This being said, I have no idea why I was nervous about my phone interview with the people from Garin Tzabar. I’m writing this just minutes after getting off the phone with the interviewer, and I’m ready to move on to the next stage of my aliyah process- more forms.

During this interview, I found out a lot more about the Garin Tzabar program. There are three phases of the program. Phase one is mostly informational. There are three weekend-long seminars, where there will be presentations and discussions with Garin Tzabar personnel and alumni, as well as people who have served with the Israeli Defense Force. During these seminars, I will be meeting the group with whom I am going to make the biggest trip of my life with. Together, we will fly to our new home, our nation’s homeland, in mid-August.

This brings us to phase two: the absorption process. Our group will all be going together to a kibbutz chosen by the powers that be. We will attend an ulpan program to help us build our Hebrew skills. We will all have adopted families on kibbutz (any volunteers?) and we’re going to work on the kibbutz as well. Best part of all this? FIELD TRIPS!!!

After all this “fun and games”, we move on to phase three. We go to our first draft and we enlist in the army of the State of Israel. Based on differing personal limitations, we will serve for between 2-3 years, in whatever unit we get into.

That, my friends, is the Garin Tzabar program in a nutshell. For more information on the program and for applications, go to GARIN TZABAR.

On a slightly different note, this blog has barely been up for 48 hours and already there have been over 1000 views, and a significant amount of congratulations and wishes of luck, good fortune, and places to stay. I can’t even begin to say how much this means to me, so thank you so much everyone, thank you for supporting me in my journey towards the next three years of my life. It means so much to me that not everybody out there thinks I’m crazy! Stick around, ok?

Am Yisrael Chai!

2 thoughts on “Done With My Interview

  1. I like that you’ve chosen to share the aliya process online. This could be a tremendous resource for others who make aliya, as well as a great way to get to know you as to go through this. Looking forward to reading more!

Please share your thoughts.

